Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Andrea tutors in San Jose, CA

Andrea G.

Private tutor in San Jose, CA

Andrea G.5242

242 reviews

Education

Southern Methodist University - BA, English Lit. & Psychology , San Jose State University - MA, Speech Language Pathology

Experience

In 2013, I earned two degrees in psychology and English literature at Southern Methodist University in Texas. Right now, I'm working toward earning a master's degree from San Jose State University in speech language pathology. I've dedicated much of my time to working with children in several different capacities - from tutoring to babysitting. I've also worked as a camp counselor for special needs children, donated my time to helping at-risk youth with assignments, and served as a group leader to help pre-teen girls maintain their reading competency during summer vacation.When it comes to my teaching skills, I'm able to leverage my English literature background to help students who need extra help with writing essays and reading comprehension. I am additionally proficient at teaching math and basic subjects at the elementary and middle school levels. To broaden my skills even more, I've started helping students prepare for the SAT through critical reading and writing teachings. Over the years, I've had several opportunities to take helpful cues from my students and my experiences. I've learned that there isn't one cookie-cutter solution to learning. Every individual student needs personalized attention and processes information at his or her own pace and in his or her own unique way. I've learned to adapt my teaching style to what each student responds to best.When I'm not in the classroom, I fill my free time with hiking, singing, cooking, yoga, and books.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

yoga, hiking, cooking, singing

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!