Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Chris tutors in San Jose, CA

Chris L.

Private tutor in San Jose, CA

Education

Michigan State University, Dual Degree Program: - Bachelor of Science, Computational Mathematics: Including detailed coursework in Higher Math and Computer Science - Bachelor of Science, Environmental Geography: Coursework in global phenomena, economics, health geography, and human-environment interactions. Pacific Institute of Mathematical Sciences: Rigorous Computing of Dynamic Systems: - Hosted by multiple universities in Vancouver, BC to learn computational approaches to solving dynamic systems Kellogg Biological Station, Student Researcher: - Held an ecological research position at a top-tier biological research center - Led to publications in water quality and land use Semester at Sea, University of Virginia: - Coursework in Environmental Science, Oceanography, Global Music, and Astronomy - Sailed to 16 countries over 4 months, guided by professors from universities around the world.

Experience

Extensive Tutoring Experience: I was a teacher at the university level for two years at Michigan State University, teaching College Algebra in my own classrooms while in undergrad. This was a highly fulfilling job for me, and I very much enjoy teaching - additionally my students consistently ranked in the top of the course, to which I can provide references as needed. I also tutored math at the college level, including: Algebra 1 and 2, Discrete Math, Trigonometry, Pre-Calc, Calculus 1 and 2, Multivariable Calculus, Differential Equations, as well as higher math topics such as Linear Algebra, Abstract Algebra, Combinatorics, Graph Theory, and Algebraic Geometry. I managed a tutoring program for a nonprofit in Lansing, MI before I moved to Santa Clara. I have tutored as a volunteer for the past 7 years, teaching children grades K - 12 in a variety of subjects, largely in reading comprehension, math and music, but in other subjects as needed. I also have experience as a programmer, primarily in Python, and am learning App Development.

Subject Expertise

Availability

Weekends at any time, Weekdays after 7PM

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

I enjoy learning and teaching in all forms, especially Math. It takes practice and experience to be able to convey many math topics, and to diagnose where a student is having difficulty conceptualizing the problem. I am quite proud of my achievements as a teacher - I taught undergraduate courses at Michigan State University in College Algebra, and my students consistently ranked in the top of the course. I currently work as a Geographic Technician (GIS), and am working on a path to graduate school to focus on global issues, most likely climate change. Eventually I would like to start a nonprofit that helps manage displaced persons and climate refugees. I am an avid musician, having played since I was about 10. Primarily I play guitar, but I dabble in drums, bass, and ukulele.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!